Emus: Least Concern

When I test phones before sending them home with a customer, I do a google search for “dog.” Why? It lets me test the internet by only typing three letters.

This customer’s phone was having problems, so after searching “dog,” I searched “cat,” so I would know that I wasn’t seeing cached results. Problems continued, and so did my need for three-letter animals. I finally searched for “emu.”

The nice little information panel that pops up when you google an animal listed the emu’s conservation status, which was “Least Concern.”

This was a big surprise to me, because the emu is a cool, exotic animal, and I’m accustomed to cool, exotic animals being endangered.

So, lift a wine glass and celebrate. Giant, flightless birds are not threatened in the least. The emu will delight our children for generations to come.

Postscript:

My next search after “emu” was for “gnu,” which, instead of animal information, turned up a non-Unix operating system.

Leave a comment